“Rejoice in the Lord always”

img_0164

Stained Glass window of Christ calming the Sea at Our Lady of Mount Carmel R.C. Church in the Bronx, NY

“I call upon You, my God, my mercy, my creator. I had forgotten You, but You held me ever in Your sight.” – Saint Augustine of Hippo

This quote rings so true to me. And it calls to mind my reversion back to my beautiful, glorious Catholic Faith. The Faith in the Triune God which has helped me to realize that joy and suffering are both beautiful & grace filled; and are usually intertwined.

Even in the times when I strayed from the Light, as this quote from the great Saint Augustine reminds, God held me ever in His sight. When we feel like we are straying or when we feel as if God has abandoned us, let us recall the above quote.

Because remember what Jesus said at the end of the Gospel of Matthew, “And behold, I am with you always, until the end of the age.” (Matthew 28:20). With that let us shout out the words of Saint Paul to the Philippians “Rejoice in the Lord always. I shall say it again: rejoice.” (Philippians 4:4)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

